The second stage of the development of power engineering (1969-1991)


The independent electricity system of Azerbaijan was founded in the 1970s. The construction and commissioning of new power plants, high-voltage power lines and substations at that time was an important step in increasing the industrial potential of the republic. In general, the major turning point in the development of the economy of Azerbaijan coincides with the period of 1969-1982 led by the national leader Heydar Aliyev. Purposeful reconstruction was underway in the current production areas, and new industry sectors were created. In 1970, in the territory of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, the Araz Water Junction and two hydroelectric power stations, each with a capacity of 22 MW, were built and put into operation on the Araz River. In 1971-1972, the Sumgayit Thermal Power Station No. 2 was expanded and two new energy aggregates with a total capacity of 110 MW were put into operation.  In 1973-1974, the installation of 2 energy aggregates, each with a capacity of 50 MW, have been completed at the Thermal Power Station No. 1. In 1976-1977, the Tartar Water Junction and Tartar hydroelectric power stations, with a capacity of 22 MW, were put into operation on the Tartar River. At the end of 1970s, the total capacity of existing power plants reached to 2882.4 MW, and 15.4 billion kWh electricity was generated. However, Azerbaijan was forced to import $ 2.9-3.5 billion kWh annually from neighboring countries to meet its growing electricity demand. To this end, it was decided to build Shamkir Hydroelectric Power Plant (Shamkir HPP) and Azerbaijan State District Power Station (Azerbaijan DRES). Thus, the construction of Shamkir Hydroelectric Power Plant, with the capacity of 380, was completed in 181-1982 and put into operation. The construction of Azerbaijan State District Power Station was begun in 1974. The first power unit with the capacity of 300 MW was put into operation in 1981 and the eighth one with the same capacity in 1989. Currently, the capacity of the station is 2400 MW.  After the commissioning of Shamkir HPP and Azerbaijan Dress, the capacity of energy system reached to 5000 MW. In addition to the commissioning of the power plants, the construction of power line systems and substations have been completed. This leads to the comprehensive development of the energy system of the republic.

The construction of Yenikend Hydroelectic Power Station, of which construction was begun thanks to a loan from the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in 1980s, but was left unfinished due to financial diffuculties, was completed and put into operation in a short time. It was planned to increase the capacity of Sumgayit Thermal Power Station No. 2 to meet the increasing heat and electricity demand of the developing Sumgait industrial district. In 1972, the last and fourth turbine generator was put into operation. So, the capacity of the station reached to 220 MW. This also helped to improve the electricity supply of the industrial area. In 1976- 1977 Sarsang reservoir and Sarsang HPP with the capacity of 50 MW was put into operation on Tartar river to improve an agriculture, to create a reservoir for irrigation of fertile soils, to improve the electric power supply of the region, to reduce losses in energy transmission in Karabakh. It is currently under the temporary occupation of Armenia. Electricity was supplied to all settlements and houses in Azerbaijan. During this period, along with the construction of power plants, the power grid was also systematically developed and a stable power system was created in the country. In 1968-1971s, Ali-Bayramli DRES-Agdam-Ganja-Agstafa with the capacity of 330 kV and Ali Bayramli DRES-Yashma Derbent high-voltage lines, as well as substations "Yashma", "Ganja" and "Agstafa" with the capacity of 330/110/20 kV respectively were built and put into operation. Construction of the Azerbaijan Thermal Power Station has founded a new stage in the development of the energy network of country. The first and second Absheron Electric Transmission Line with the capacity of 500 kV, Muxranis-Vali Electric Transmission Line, the fourth and fifth Mingachevir Electric Transmission Lines were built. In 1980s, ”Absheron” with the capacity of 500/330/220 kV, “Imishli” with 330/110/10 kV, “Hovsan”, “Nizami”, “Mushfiq”, “Sangachal”, “Masalli”, “Agsu”, “Babek” substation with the capacity of 220/110/10 kV were commissioned.  The third Ali-Bayramli Electric Transmission Line with the capacity of 330 kV was put into operation.

Saytda yerləşdirilən məlumatlar və saytın dizaynı. © Energetika Nazirliyi 2018. Bütün hüquqlar qorunub

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.